20
Jan
14

jay dockins’ January 2014 rock of israel newsletter

Shalom Haverim (Hello Friends),

2014 has arrived and is in full swing! I trust that, so far, it has been a good beginning for your year! I believe that the Lord wants to make this a good year for all those who will trust Him and follow what He lays out before us!

2014 has already shown to be a time of change for the Dockins family! Kim and I both had bariatric surgery in December and are seeing tremendous results! It was recommended by our doctor and we are already seeing health benefits and the resolution of issues which had plagued us for some time! We are enjoying improving health, leaner physiques and shopping for new clothes! What a change and a blessing which the Lord allowed us to experience! It has been tough, but will be well worth it in the months and years to come!

We haven’t had any services the first three weeks of January because of our surgeries and a 10 pound lifting limit which our surgeon imposed upon us! We have just spent the time resting and recuperating and getting ready for upcoming services! We begin our 2014 schedule with two services on January 26th in Monticello, Arkansas!

January also brought quite a surprise for Kim! I was able to pull off a surprise which was several months in the making! On the 18th we renewed our wedding vows in a ceremony which was a shocker for my lovely wife! We quietly celebrated our 32nd anniversary on Thursday, the 16th! I told Kim that we would go out for a special day on Saturday. What she did not know about or expect was a vow renewal ceremony, complete with her matron of honor, a slideshow of pictures of us throughout the years, video greetings from some of our friends from around the country and a reception! To say the least, she was pleased! And I was a hero for arranging the whole thing! But most of all, we stood before God and witnesses and vowed to continue to love one another! It was an awesome and memorable experience!

The Fredericks and the Dockins

The Fredericks and the Dockins

December was a delightful month for us with two services. The first was with Pastor Tammy Frederick in Paris, Arkansas. This service was on a wintry day which featured clear highways until we got within two or so miles of the church where we ran into hills which our van was not designed to negotiate! The pastor’s husband was kind enough to come and give us a ride to the church in his four-wheel drive truck! The service and the dinner which followed were delightful as we celebrated God sending His Son to us so that we might be saved!

Pastor Steve Moss and Jay Dockins

Pastor Steve Moss and Jay Dockins

Our other service was with Pastor Steve Moss and his congregation on the outskirts of El Dorado, Arkansas! The service was wonderful and the people were warm, receiving the message so kindly, as they always have in previous services! We enjoyed the fellowship with the Moss family! The only drawback for me was that I was on a liquid diet in preparation for my upcoming surgery and could only have soup as everyone else ate Chinese food, one of my favorite types of food! (I will have to remind myself to not pray so hard for His grace in my life!)

I want to close this edition by reminding us to be diligent in our living as we expectantly await the coming of the Lord! I believe that Jesus is coming back in the very near future! I believe that His Word proclaims clearly that we should be alertly watching and waiting for His return! But there is an alarming trend, at least to me, regarding Jesus’ soon return. For the past several months I have heard of and seen a video about the “Four Blood Moons Prophecy.” I have seen it and was thrilled, enthralled and moved by its possible implications! But is does not form my basis of belief in the soon coming of the Lord, His Word does! As thrilling as the video and other things which I have heard shared through the years are, only his Word must be the basis for my belief! His Word is eternal, His Word is settled in Heaven and His Word is inspired! So, if you hear something which lines up with His Word, rejoice! But do not let anything but His Word become the basis of what you believe!

Jewish Vocabulary
As I was reading recently, I was reminded of the Hebrew word “akedah.”
Akedah is the term for the binding of Isaac by Abraham on Mount Moriah. It was Abraham’s obedience to the command of the LORD to take his son, his only son, Isaac and offer him unto the LORD! This beautiful picture shows what God was going to do in offering His Only Son, Jesus, as the sacrifice for the sins of the world!

If you are a pastor or church leader and would like to have the ministry of Rock of Israel come to your church, please contact me in one of the ways listed below! I always enjoy the opportunity to share about Jewish evangelism, culture and the Jewish Messiah with congregations in this area of the country! I share a little about the ministry and then share a message from God’s Word! I look forward to hearing from you! Shalom!

To learn more about our ministry go to http://jdockinsrockofisrael.wordpress.com/

You can reach me:

-by phone @ 479-453-0203 or 800-722-ROCK (7625), the dial ext. 106!

-on Facebook  Jay Dockins

-on Twitter @JayDockins

-or by email @ jdockins@rockofisrael.org

1 Response to “jay dockins’ January 2014 rock of israel newsletter”


  1. August 28, 2014 at 2:20 am

    Greetings I am so grateful I found your weblog, I really
    found you by error, while I was researching on Google for something else, Anyways I am
    here now and would just like to say thank you for a incredible post
    and a all round entertaining blog (I also love the theme/design), I
    don’t have time to go through it all at the minute but
    I have book-marked it and also added your RSS feeds, so when I have
    time I will be back to read much more, Please do keep up the fantastic job.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,113 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 951 other followers


