12
Aug
13

jay dockins’ august 2013 rock of israel newsletter

Shalom Haverim! (Hello Friends!)

roi DC 2013 a

Luann Kehoe, Scott Roberts and Jay Dockins
Fourth of July Parade, Washington, D.C.

July was yet another busy month of travel and ministry. I began the month in Washington, D.C. on a Rock of Israel evangelism outreach. Our little team of three hit the streets of the nation’s capital to hand out gospel tracts and speak to those who were concerned about their spiritual condition. There were plenty of people on the streets as it was the week of the Fourth of July and the city was absolutely full of tourists! Our team of Scott Roberts, Luann Kehoe and I, handed out all of the tracts which we had! It was the first outreach which I have been on where that has happened! We all worked hard, especially Scott and Luann!

roi DC 2013 b

Part of the crowd estimated at 450,000 at the
July 4th Parade in Washington, D.C.!

NEVER AGAIN!

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington, D.C.

United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, Washington, D.C.


While in Washington, I had the opportunity to visit the United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. I arose early on Friday, July 5th, and made my way to the Museum. This was the one place that I desired to visit and I was determined to not miss this chance. Tickets are handed out some time between 9:30 and 9:45 each morning to those who have lined up to receive them. I arrived at 7:50 and was the first one in line! I was anticipating a moving and emotional experience inside and was not disappointed!

The tour of the USHMM is self-directed and takes around two hours. As I proceeded from the starting point on the fourth floor, I found the exhibited material almost overwhelming. There were many articles, displays and artifacts which powerfully showed the horrors of World War II, the reign of Adolph Hitler in Germany and the horrors of the Holocaust. Two areas were especially poignant to me and are the ones which I remember the most.

In one area of the building, there was a display called, “The Tower of Faces.” It is a three story high tower showing scenes of everyday life from the Jewish community in the Lithuanian town of Eisiskes. The story of what happened to the Jews of this area and an image of the tower of pictures can be seen at http://resources.ushmm.org/inquery/uia_doc.php/query/1?uf=uia_teDIqM. I wept as I looked at the faces and portraits of those who had been massacred by the Nazis. It was a haunting reminder of how everyday life can change very quickly for any of us! Be sure to click on the link above and read the brief synopsis below the picture.

In another area was another haunting display. It was a pile of shoes which had been confiscated from prisoners of the Majdanek concentration camp, near Lublin, Poland, as they were being prepared to enter the gas chambers to be exterminated. This camp was one used to kill many thousands of Jewish people were killed in the gas chambers. The shoes on display were removed from the prisoners shortly before they were marched into what they were told were “showers.” You can see a picture of the pile of shoes at http://resources.ushmm.org/inquery/uia_doc.php/query/30?uf=uia_teDIqM. I again wept as I stood just a few feet from the shoes and read the following verse by Yiddish poet, Moses Schulstein:

We are the shoes, We are the last witnesses
We are shoes from grandchildren and grandfathers.
From Prague, Paris and Amsterdam
And because we are only made of fabric and leather
And not of blood and flesh,
Each one of us avoided the Hellfire

-Yiddish poet Moses Schulstein

As you can probably tell, my visit to the USHMM was a very intense and personal experience. It served to not only further educate me about the Holocaust, but to also deepen my love for the Jewish people and intensify my desire to share the good news of the Messiah with them! I am thankful to the LORD for the opportunity to visit the museum and I pray that its impact will continue until the next time that I have opportunity to visit!

A little later in July I was blessed with the joy of attending the General Conference of the International Pentecostal Holiness Church in Dallas, Texas. I arrived in Dallas on Tuesday, the day of the denomination’s Men’s and Women’s Conferences and set up my table. Several people came to the table, ignoring the chaos of getting set up, and spoke and looked at the merchandise which I had set up. The next day I opened for sales and conversation and had a fabulous time! Every person who came to the table seemed interested in the ministry of Rock of Israel and reaching the Jewish people with the good news! As the conference proceeded, I realized that every person that I spoke with was positive and that there was not one negative word said about Israel or the Jewish people. I came away with the impression that the delegates of the Conference really loved Jesus, Israel and the Jewish people. Of course, I can’t figure out how anyone who claims to love the first, could not love the other two! It was a very successful, rewarding and enriching experience to fellowship with these believers!

Jay with Pastor Ron Smith, Dellwood Park Assembly of God, Mt. Pleasant, Texas!

Jay with Pastor Ron Smith, Dellwood Park Assembly of God, Mt. Pleasant, Texas!

On my way home from Dallas, I stopped by Mt. Pleasant, Texas, to spend a couple of days with my friends, Pastor Ron Smith and his family. Ron pastors Dellwood Park Assembly of God and had scheduled me to preach in the services of the church that weekend. I had an incredibly good time fellowshipping with the Smiths and their congregation! I really enjoyed sharing about the ministry of Rock of Israel and ministering the Word of God! The congregation was receptive and my time there was a fabulous way to end my trip to the Lone Star state!

Jewish Vocabulary
This month’s Jewish vocabulary word is Holocaust. The word is not from the Hebrew or Yiddish, but is Greek in origin. It is composed of two words, “holos” which means whole and “kaustos” which means burned. Originally speaking of a sacrifice offered upon an altar, it now has the connotation of the evil perpetrated against the Jewish people by the Nazi’s in World War II. May our attitude be the same as the Jewish people in regards to the atrocities of the Holocaust: “NEVER AGAIN!”

This year has been passing rather rapidly! I am finding it hard to believe that we are already into August and that the things which I look forward to toward the end of the year (football, ROI Staff Conference, holidays, etc.) are fast approaching! I say that to broach the subject of scheduling services for next year! I have already started receiving requests for dates for next Spring (especially Passover Seder services)! It is not too early to schedule for next year and I would be happy to accommodate any requests which are received! So, whether you are a pastor who has been thinking about scheduling a Rock of Israel service or a church member who just wants your pastor to schedule one, contact me at one of the ways listed below! And I still have some good dates left on this year’s calendar, too! (I will be out of the country August 15 through 24 and will have no phone service. Please use email, Facebook or Twitter should you desire to reach me during this time period. Kim will be available at 1-800-544-0829 should you need to call on these days.)

1-800-207-7780 or 1-800-544-0829
jdockins@rockofisrael.org
@JayDockins (on Twitter)
Jay Dockins (on Facebook)

Shalom! See you in September!

1 Response to “jay dockins’ august 2013 rock of israel newsletter”


  1. August 13, 2013 at 7:25 am

    The links to the photos are apparently not working. To see the photos, go to http://www.ushmm.org and type ‘‪#‎N03043‬’ into the search box to see the Tower of Faces and ‘‪#‎N02456‬’ to see the shoes. Sorry that the links didn’t work, but I want you to see these photographs. They are profound.


Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,094 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 951 other followers


