15
Dec
12

jay dockins’ december 2012 rock of israel newsletter

Shalom Haverim,

December is here with its flurry of activities and chores! Decorating, shopping, parties, wrapping, cooking, giving, etc., all fill the schedule! On top of all of these, Kim and I have a modest schedule of services to minister in through the weekend prior to New Year’s Day! We originally had three full weekends scheduled for December but one was rescheduled until January (thankfully) and it looks like we might just get everything done that we need to do!

We have been having tremendously enjoyable services lately! Our travels recently have been in Arkansas and Tennessee! I have been mainly sharing about the 333 details of prophecy about the Messiah! It is such a blessing to realize how faithful that God is to His Word and how many details of Jesus’ life prove that He truly is the Messiah!

Rev. Steve Woods and Family

Rev. Steve Woods and Family

Our last services were in Ripley, Tennessee! Kim’s brother, Steven Woods, pastors New Life Fellowship Church and we had the privilege of ministering in both the morning and evening services. It was a great weekend of visiting with family, ministering the Word of God and having great fellowship with the people of the church. The only down side for me was the 4 ½ hour drive back on Sunday night, getting to bed at 1:25 a.m. and back up at 4:45 to go to work! I made it just fine and was able to come back home and take a nap after I got off!

It Is Time To Celebrate!
December is certainly the best time of the year when it comes to celebrating! I look forward to Hanukkah and Christmas each year! To me, both of these holidays speak of the coming of the Jesus, the Messiah, to save us from our sin! In no greater way did God show His love for us than by sending His Son to be our Savior! I will get back to what we celebrate in a minute. But first, I want to talk about what I don’t celebrate!

I don’t celebrate a day! Too many people get hung up on Christmas Day and lose the blessing of the Savior who came! I personally do not believe that Jesus was born on December 25th, but I can celebrate along with the rest of the world because my Savior came to save me! My studies lead me to believe that Jesus was born during the Feast of Tabernacles but I will not journey down that road at this time. I just don’t celebrate the date of December 25!

I don’t celebrate the shepherds or the wise men! Shepherds were the first to hear the message which the angel proclaimed on the night that Jesus was born, but they heard the news as do we, as sinful men in need of a Savior! They did indeed come to see the Savior, their Messiah, and so should we! That is who we seek! Likewise, the wise men came to see Him. (By the way, they were not present on the night that Jesus was born, but came later!) They were looking for the One who had been born King of the Jews! We too should seek this One who God had promised to David as the man who would sit upon his throne! The shepherds and the wise men were seekers, not the sought! We seek the One who is worthy to be found, not our fellow seekers!

I don’t celebrate decorations (although I do love the lights!), the music (although some of it is rich and grand!), the fable, the fantasy or the fantastic aspects of the season! My celebration is not about Santa, Frosty, Rudolph, the Grinch or even that old nose-nipper, Jack Frost! My celebration is about the Messiah that God sent in a very special and spectacular way to save mankind!

I Celebrate The Light!
Hanukkah is a vital part of my celebration! Hanukkah is a celebration of the miraculous event which took place around the cleansing and rededication of the Temple after it was liberated from the control of Seleucids (Greeks) by a revolt led by Judah Maccabees in 2nd Century B.C.E. The miraculous event was that one day’s supply of oil prepared for the lampstand in the Temple lasted for 8 days while additional oil was being properly prepared! It is the Festival of Lights! Now what does this have to do with Jesus?

images (2)

Jesus is the Light of the World! He is the Light that shined in darkness which the darkness could not comprehend! He is the Great Light that has shined on the people who dwelt in darkness! It is my understanding that in the Middle East, the moment of conception is referred to as “lighting the light of life”. What more appropriate time for Jesus to have been conceived than at during the Festival of Lights?!

Dreidels with Hebrew Letters (from r to l)- Nun, Gimel, Hay, Shin standing for Nes Gadol Hayah Sham "A Great Miracle Happened There"

Dreidels with Hebrew Letters (from r to l)- Nun, Gimel, Hay, Shin standing for Nes Gadol Hayah Sham “A Great Miracle Happened There”

I celebrate Hanukkah with the thought of the supernatural conception of Jesus occurring there! (See Luke 1:26-38) What a great miracle! One of the fun traditions of Hanukkah is playing the dreidel game! The dreidel is a four sided top with a Hebrew letter on each side. The four letters are an acronym for a Hebrew phrase: Nes Gadol Hayah Sham! (A Great Miracle Happened There!) Not only did the miracle of the one day of oil lasting for eight days occur, but a greater miracle occurred, the supernatural conception of God’s Son in the womb of a virgin named Miriam (Mary) by the power of the Highest which overshadowed her! Now, that is a reason to celebrate!

I Celebrate The Savior!
Christmas should be a reminder that the Savior came in the form of human flesh so that we might know Him and His salvation! He was born as we were (although conceived much differently), lived on the same earth and was tempted in every area like we are (yet without sin), was crucified for our sins (even though He committed none of His own), and was resurrected (as we shall also be because He was)! Why shouldn’t I celebrate?!

download (1)

God came down in the person of Jesus in fulfillment of the Feast of Tabernacles! The Feast of Tabernacles celebrates God dwelling with His people in the Wilderness in the pillar of cloud by day and the pillar of fire by night! I celebrate God coming down to live with man (being born during the Feast of Tabernacles, I believe) and being all that I need Him to be! John 1:14 states that “the Word became flesh and dwelt (tabernacled) among us”! That is what I celebrate, even if at the wrong time of the year! I can live without all of the festivities, the busyness, the parties, the food and even the presents if I have to. It all means nothing if the Savior didn’t come! But He came and that is why I celebrate!

Christmas Music
I love Christmas music. We start listening to it on the local radio station which goes “All Christmas” the day after Thanksgiving each year! I especially love the songs whose words give reason to celebrate! Here are a few of my favorite lyrics which usually bring a tear to my eye and a thrill to my soul!

Good people all, this Christmas time, Consider well and bear in mind,
What our good God for us has done in sending his beloved son.
With Mary holy we should pray, to God with love this Christmas Day.
In Bethlehem upon that morn, there was a blessed Messiah born!

O come, O come, Emmanuel, and ransom captive Israel,
That mourns in lonely exile here, until the Son of God appear.
Rejoice! Rejoice! Emmanuel,
Shall come to thee, O Israel!

God of God, Light of Light,
Lo, He abhors not the Virgin’s womb;
Son of the Father, begotten, not created;

Yea, Lord, we greet Thee, born this happy morning;
Jesus, to Thee be glory given;
Word of the Father, now in flesh appearing;

O come, let us adore Him,
O come, let us adore Him,
O come, let us adore Him,
Christ the Lord!

Jewish Vocabulary
Nes- Miracle
Gadol- Big or Great
Hayah- Come to Pass or I AM
Sham- There

“A Great Miracle Came To Pass (I AM) There!” Wow, when the miracle came to pass, it meant that the Great I AM was there!”

Happy Hanukkah and Merry Christmas from the Dockins’ Household!

Pastors, Spring is approaching and the time for Passover Seders is here! I am currently scheduling services for 2013! Contact me for information and dates!

1-800-207-7780 or 1-800-544-0829

jdockins@rockofisrael.org

@JayDockins (on Twitter)

Jay Dockins (on Facebook)

0 Responses to “jay dockins’ december 2012 rock of israel newsletter”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 6,113 hits

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 951 other followers


